Engagement Party Time!

As promised but a bit late, here is an update of our crazy crazy life.  The past few weeks had me running around a bit, between clients, school and pulling off an engagement party for 40 people.  I am glad to say all turned out well. 

I really love party planning and showing people a good time so I was definitely in my element with this party. My mom was out of town for the past week, otherwise she would have helped out more than she did.  Thank you mom  for all of your help and “throwing” us an amazing party!

Now for all of the fun details! Where to start? Well, we went with a fun summery palette for the party.  Red and white with blue.  Very fun and appropriate for the last weekend of summer. To take advantage of the wonderful Southern California weather, we held the party at Central Park in Rancho Santa Margarita.  And was it beautiful!  The sun was shining and the sky was clear, perfect for an afternoon BBQ. We had amazing food from Wood Ranch BBQ. It is so close, that if the wind is blowing just right, you can smell the meat smoking at our house. The food tastes just as amazing as it smells and I love the pesto rolls with their famous BBQ sauce.

So back to the fun colors and decorations! The invitations were done by a wonderful graphic artist, Kelly Crane. I have been lucky enough to work with and call Kelly a friend for 3 years now. Her work is beautiful and the attention to detail is amazing! I highly recommend her to anyone who is looking for any kind of artwork to be done.

I happened onto a blog for a photographer, Chenin Boutwell while researching wedding ideas and she had just thrown her friend a bridal shower in the  exact same colors as we had decided on!  Imagine my delight when she included the links to find her fun decorations.  I fell in love with these giant three foot balloons.
engagement baloons
  We were hoping for red, but Dana Party Supply (yes, they really are called Dana Party Supply) were all out but they did have 3 left in a great shade of blue.  These worked out great and made it so much easier for everyone to find us in the park. Fresh daisies and tulips livened up the tables.  Even the candy matched our color scheme!
candy table
One of my favorite things from the party was the “engaged!” banner I made. It turned out so much better than I could have hoped. I was so sad when I realized that I was so focused on making sure our guests had a good time, that I completely forgot to take pictures of the decorations! If anyone out there got pictures, send them our way!

The most important part of the engagement party was for our families to meet.  Well, some of our families to meet, the ones in the state of California.  Yes, that is right people, we have dated for eight years and our parents never met until the engagement party.  Why you ask?  It never came up.  Not until we realized how long it had been, and by that point we made ourselves so nervous about it.  I think we stressed ourselves out over nothing.  The day went beautifully.  My little nephew even made his first appearance in public since he was born.  He of, course, was the hit of the party!
mensawyer
Thank you to everyone who came out and helped us make our day special!

Resources
Inspiration
Chenin Boutwell

Decorations
Dana Party Supply
Michaels
Paper Source

Graphic Design

Kelly Crane – kellycranedesigns@yahoo.com

This entry was posted in Engagement Party and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Engagement Party Time!

  1. Jack says:

    FUN FUN FUN! Beer, Babies, and BBQ !! (oh, yeah, an engagement “announcement” Yeah!!!

    See, Dana, Cheryl and I told you “NO PROBLEMO!”

Leave a Reply

