Bridal Shower Fun

This past weekend, my bridesmaids threw me a bridal shower.  It was amazing. They threw a party like I would throw a party.  The attention to detail was insane.  Right down to the centerpiece Duffi had her husband build.  Yup, there were power tools involved in my bridal shower.  How cool is that? But we will get to that later.

My day started out at the hair salon, where Crystal made me beautiful.  I had been putting off getting my hair done for a month so I could go in on the day of my shower.  Those of you who know me, know how hard that is for me.  I felt as if I belonged in a trailer park and had to change my name to something like  Candi, with an “i” of course.  She introduced me to her amazing curling iron that I just simply cannot live without.  After she worked her magic, I headed off to MAC because, well, a girl just needs to pamper herself, just a bit.

Oh yeah, check out the kick ass flower I found on Etsy by Mignonne Handmade.  I actually built my entire outfit around that.  Because that’s what you do, you find an accessory and then find the rest of the outfit. (BTW – didn’t I tell you the curling iron was amazing?!)

So back to the power tools.  Duffi took her job ad Matron of Honor very seriously and did her research for the shower.  She went to Anthropologie for inspiration and made many trips to the dreaded Shinoda’s.  She had her husband build the crate as the center piece for the table.  I love it so much I am going to have to sneak into her house one night and steal it!

How awesome would my herb garden look nestled in that? Or as a centerpiece on my kitchen table…oh the possibilities!

My mom put her painting skills to work and painted teacups with our wedding date and names on them.  And my other wonderful bridesmaid Heather had her mom make her toffee.  This stuff is like crack.  People who don’t like toffee like this stuff.  It is so amazing!


Did I mention that Heather also designed our invitations for the shower as well?  I have a multi-talented bunch of gals, don’t I?

The weird thing was it made this whole wedding thing “real”.  I have only had couple of other moments like that. The first was when I walked into the very first bridal salon, the other two times were in mass and I realized that I would be “up there” saying vows in a few short months.  This was a little nerve wracking going into it.  I had a blast once I was able to relax a little. Duffi’s white wine sangria helped with that quite a bit.  I wish I was able to talk to everyone more but it really was a whirlwind of a day.  I was so glad to see all of my girls there and have them all celebrate with me.

And as for the gifts? AJ and I made out like bandits!  We have all of our stemware -I think our friends know us pretty well – as well as quite a few kitchen essentials.

Of course, no Dalbey family gathering is complete without my cousins. Jana and Carolyn are twins and as different as can be.  Jana works in a law firm and can be totally inappropriate at times (which is why we love her- she calls a spade a spade). Where as Carolyn is a designer for Roxy and a bit more reserved.  They are both so much fun.  Well, Of course, thanks to them, this happened…

That’s right folks.  I thought I had made it through the entire shower without being embarrassed.  I was wrong.  The very last gift was from the twins, and well, I won’t go into detail as to what they put into the basket, but as you can see, I turned a rather lovely shade of red.

Thank you to my friends and family who were able to make it. Thank you those who couldn’t but still sent cards and love. Thank you to my aunties! They made my shower beautiful (and yummy too!) And most importantly, thank you to my bridesmaids.  The shower was more amazing than I ever thought it would be.  You are all so wonderful and I am so lucky to have you all in my life!

I will leave you with some fun pictures of the shower.  All pictures are from either Jill Troutman Photography, Alison MacInnes and my mom.

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Uncategorized, Wedding Details and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bridal Shower Fun

  1. Jack says:

    Dana………you look absolutely beautiful, and………………..you made out like a bandit…..

    Jack

Leave a Reply

